Hans Christian Lumbye: Queen Louise Waltz (1868)

During his extensive career, Lumbye composed a number of marches and waltzes that were specifically dedicated to Denmark’s house of royalty. Among his later works in this group is the waltz suite from 1868, which follows the traditional pattern: an introductory Entré followed by four waltzes and a coda that repeats the melody from Waltz no. 1. The suite was composed for the German-born Queen Louise (1817-1898). In 1842, she had married the Danish Prince Christian (1818-1906) and she subsequently became Queen of Denmark upon her husband’s accession to the throne as King Christian IX in 1863.

The work is published here in a critical scholarly edition for the first time. It has been pieced together and written out on the basis of the oldest surviving complete set of parts, which date from the beginning of the twentieth century. Lumbye’s autograph score was, in all probability, consumed by the Schalburgtage-incited fire that engulfed Tivoli’s Concert Hall on the night between the 24th and the 25th of June 1944.

Queen Louise WaltzLumbye: Maritana

Edited by Axel Teich Geertinger
With an introduction by Knud Arne Jürgensen
Published by DCM 2010
Publ. No. DCM 004


bog Printed, wire bound. 40 pages.
32.5 x 25 cm.
Order at Edition·S
pdf PDF (656 kB; requires Adobe Reader).
40 pages.

Orchestral parts

pdf PDF files, zipped (2.3 MB; requires Adobe Reader).
22 parts: picc., fl., ob.1, ob.2, cl.1, cl.2, fg.1, fg.2, cor.1, cor.2, tr.1, tr.2, trb.1, trb.2, trb.3, timp., perc., vl.1, vl.2, va., vc., cb.