Time of upheaval! Concerto Copenhagen and Brantelid

For the first time, Danish star soloist Andreas Brantelid is playing together with an orchestra that has historical performance practice as its point of departure

Saturday 26 September 2020 at 16:00 Dronningesalen / The Queen's Hall
Andreas Brantelid. Foto: Mario Taramides


Standard  240 kr.
Diamantclub  170 kr.
Students  100 kr.

Two of Denmark’s most striking musical profiles, CoCo and Andreas Brantelid, home in on a time of dramatic upheaval in the history of music – the transition from the polyphony of the Baroque and complex musical structures to the homophonous simplicity and clarity of classicism.

The emotions of the composer
The concert includes works by two of the perhaps most neglected composers of this epoch of upheaval: the two Bach sons Carl Philipp Emanuel and Wilhelm Friedemann.

Their completely distinctive music is part of a kind of pre-Romantic movement in Germany in the 1760-80 period to which the young Goethe also belonged, known as Sturm und Drang.

C.Ph. Emanuel himself writes in one of his scores: “This music is an expression of the composer’s emotions” – something which would have been inconceivable only 20 years earlier.


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767): Ouverture à 5 in F Major for two oboes, two horns and strings
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788): Cello Concerto in A major

- Intermission -

Wilhelm Friedemann Bach (1710-1784): Sinfonia in F major, "Dissonant"
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Cello Concerto No.1 in C major

The concert lasts approx. 1 hour and 30 minutes, including an intermission.