Bach über Bach with Sebastian Knauer and Morten Friis

A journey through Bach’s great music book, from wohltemperierte Klavier to his famous Harpsichord Concerto (here on piano) in D minor, with the support of string players from a newly formed Danish ensemble

Tuesday 8 September 2020 at 20:00 The Queens Hall
Sebastian Knauer. Photo: Steven Haberland
Sebastian Knauer. Photo: Steven Haberland


Standard  260 kr.
Diamantclub  190 kr.
Student  100 kr.

The season opens with the meeting between two striking soloists, the German pianist Sebastian Knauer and the vibraphone player Morten Friis, along with 20 virtuoso string players from the newly formed ensemble Spissky Musica, with Peter Spissky as concertmaster.

Sebastian Knauer has over the years become a well-known guest at The Queen’s Hall. His most recent visit to us was with the violinist Daniel Hope in 2019. On the stage with him this evening is Morten Friis, the one half of Safri Duo, here with the vibraphone as a solo instrument.

The composer Arash Safaian, with the Über Bach project, has respectfully given Bach special treatment in a journey through the maestro’s works.

The concert begins with the Harpsichord Concerto in D minor.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1758): Harpsichord Concerto No.1 in D minor

Arash Safaian (1981-): 
Concerto No. 1, Infinite Games
Concerto No. 2, As Above so Below
Concerto No. 4, Newton's Law
Modulation: Looping Bach
Concerto No. 3Fuge Like a Passion

Concert introduction, 19:00: The music scholar Niels Krabbe gives a talk about Bach’s music.

The concert lasts approx. 70 minutes, without an intermission.