Star-studded winter jazz with the Enrico Pieranunzi Trio

Three fine-sounding jazz giants from Italy and Denmark join forces to create original music, spiced with collective improvisations and great jazz standards

Wednesday 19 February 2020 at 20:00 The Queen's Hall
Conductor Pierre-André Valade will this evening be heading both Athelas Sinfonietta and Esbjerg Ensemble. Photo: Niels Hougaard

Buy Ticket

Standard   210 kr.
Diamantklub   160 kr.
Students   100 kr.

The Italian star pianist Enrico Pieranunzi has put together a new Danish-based trio, linking up with the bass player Thomas Fonnesbæk and the drummer Morten Lund.

The pianist and composer Enrico Pieranunzi has become a world star within the genre of jazz music. He is famous for playing poetically, with finely nuanced harmonies and an elegantly controlled approach to modern post-bop jazz. He draws on the strong European music tradition, using techniques influenced by classical music, and he has previously cooperated with such major names as Chet Baker, Lee Konitz, Paul Motian, Charlie Haden, Chris Potter, Marc Johnson and Joey Baron. Pieranunzi has made over 70 recordings under his own name and has over 300 compositions to his credit. Some of these have become standards and are played and recorded by musicians all over the world, such as Night Bird, Don’t Forget the Poet and Fellini’s Waltz.

Thomas Fonnesbæk is a super bass player who has carved a niche for himself among the world elite. Fonnesbæk experiences the world synaesthetically, i.e. he has an ab ility to visualise music as colours, and this, combined with his talent on his instrument, makes him a particularly remarkable musician. He has played together with various great Danish musicians, and in 2015 he received a Danish Music Award.

Morten Lund is one of Europe’s most experienced jazz and session drummers. He is praised for his creative, swinging and melodious drumming and has taken part in almost 300 recordings. He was given the prestigious Ben Webster Award in 2006. 

Enrico Pieranunzi, piano
Thomas Fonnesbæk, bass
Morten Lund, drums