Carl Nielsen

Saga-Drøm, opus 39

for orkester

Saga Dream, Opus 39

for Orchestra

Opus 39
CNW 35
CNUCarl Nielsen Udgaven (The Carl Nielsen Edition. The Royal Library: Copenhagen 1998–2009) II/8
CNSCarl Nielsens Samling (The Carl Nielsen Collection, The Royal Library, Copenhagen) 61
FSDan Fog & Torben Schousboe: Carl Nielsen kompositioner. En Bibliografi. København 1965. 46

Dedicatee: Bror Beckman

Carl Nielsen Edition

Composition: 1907–08.

While composing the music for the drama Tove (CNW 10) in winter 1907–08, Nielsen was developing ideas for an orchestral work inspired by Njals Saga. The first tentative indication of its thematic material is therefore found in the composer's score for Tove. In March 1908, the music for Tove was completed, and on 1 April Nielsen end-dated the fair copy of Saga-Drøm. He later included the piece in his music for the play Moderen (CNW 18) .

Andante tranquillo

+ Sources

+ Performances

+ Documents

+ Bibliography

Last changed 2019-12-18 12:54 by karj